Infrastructure Strategy Leadership Group

    Created in 1996, ISLG is a long established independent stakeholder group celebrating 20 years of membership within the British rail industry. It is high profile and respected forum for infrastructure owners and contractors to lead and influence the application of existing health, safety and environmental (HSE) legislation.


    Membership of ISLG is open to companies who are members of the infrastructure contractors’ and design community. Some ISLG member companies are also railway undertakings: the train operations aspect of their scope of operations is addressed by the M&EE Network Group. Each ISLG member must manage their own risks associated with their own scope of operations.

    The Chair of ISLG (and individual members) represents ISLG at industry meetings and forums which are relevant to the purpose and scope of the group. The Chair attends groups that include RSSB System Safety Risk Group (SSRG) and Network Rails Infrastructure Projects Safety and Sustainability meeting.

    Message from the chair

    ISLG is a collaborative Health, Safety and Sustainability forum which represent the Principal Contractor and Principal Designer communities and their supply chains. As a community of Senior Leaders in our field passionate about working together to lead and drive health, safety and sustainable improvements throughout the Rail industry and beyond, our focus is on using our collective expertise to improve health, safety and sustainability processes, behaviours and material change programmes. 


      The ISLG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

      • freight and other non-passenger train operators
      • infrastructure managers and owners
      • infrastructure contractors
      • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
      • RSSB
      • Department for Transport (observer)
      • Office of Rail and Road (observer).
      Chair of committee: Lynsey Gilfillan , Babcock Rail Ltd
      RSSB main representative: Phil Hibberd , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Other Members
      Other members
      Lynsey Gilfillan
      Babcock Rail Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Lucy Powell
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Bill Saddington
      Thales Group
      Andrew Adams
      SPL Powerlines UK Limited
      St Maur Miles
      Amey OWR Ltd
      Martyn Baraclough
      Buckingham Group Contracting Limited
      Steven Van Niekerk
      HS1 Limited
      David Lowes
      Hochtief (UK) Construction Ltd
      Andrew Cullen
      Keltbray Aspire Ltd
      Steve Diksa
      Bridgeway Consulting Limited
      Dave Marshall
      Walker Construction (UK) Ltd
      John Tidyman
      TES 2000 Ltd
      Stuart Haden
      Ove Arup & Partners International Ltd T/A Arup
      Stuart Webster-Spriggs
      Volkerrail Limited
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Vincent Neligan
      Alstom Transport UK Ltd
      Alan Taylor
      Story Contracting Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Andrew Bushell
      Babcock Rail Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Bill Cooke
      Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Carole Slimm
      Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Caroline Meek
      Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Matt Wright
      Osborne Group Holdings Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Michelle Welch
      Kier Rail Limited
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Paul Hughes
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Peter Usher
      VolkerFitzpatrick Limited
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Phil Hibberd
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Pino De Rosa
      Bridgeway Consulting Limited
      Richard Long
      Construction Marine Limited
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Dean Johns
      Network Rail Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Greg Morse
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Jim Adshead
      Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Joseph Hagan
      Colas Rail Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Louise Walker
      VINCI Construction UK Limited t/a Taylor Woodrow
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Darryl Hopper
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Mick O'Brien
      High Speed Two (HS2) Limited
      Sharon Hillstead
      Atkins Ltd
      Peter Roberts
      OSL Global
      Paul Atkins-Maher CMIOSH AIEMA
      Amey Rail Limited
      Paul Maxted
      Jacobs UK Limited
      John Halsall
      Amey Plc
      James Clegg
      Linbrooke Services Ltd
      Chris Leech
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Danny Gilham
      Skanska Construction UK Ltd
      Mike Healey
      J Murphy & Sons Limited
      Paul Taylor
      Colas Rail Ltd
      Gary Copley
      Railway Electrical Services Limited
      Robert Sigrist
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      ISLG Inbox
      Shadi Ghadami
      TES 2000 Ltd
      Do you need to get in touch with this group?
      Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
      Lucy Powell
      Tel: 020 3142 5581
      Cookies help us improve your website experience.
      By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.