Skip to content

Road risk


Road driving impacts on the widest range of those working in the rail industry from employees, contractors, suppliers, to Office of Rail and Road (ORR) inspectors and officers of the British Transport Police (BTP), and those conducting investigations.  

The RRG has aligned its strategic objectives to those set out in the ‘Leading health & safety on Britain’s railway – a strategy for working together’. The main areas of focus are:


  • Railway employees, including ORR inspectors, BTP Officers and those conducting investigations, driving to and from their usual place of work to the railway environment
  • Contractors driving to and from the railway environment
  • Taxis services for railway employees at work
  • Bus replacement services and taxis for passengers

​​Committee information

Committee Information

  • Chairman:

    Rupert Lown, Network Rail
  • RSSB representative:

    Tavid Dobson
  • Meeting manager: on 0203 142 5469


This group has no sub-groups.


The RRG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

  • Network Rail
  • ATOC
  • ISLG
  • NFSG
  • Office of Rail and Road​
  • Trade Unions
  • RSSB
members list
Name Company Representing Member type
Rupert Lown Network Rail Committee Chair
Claire Dickinson Office of Rail and Road Regulator Member
Des Lowe Cross Country Trains Passenger Train Operators Member
Kelly-Louise Greene RSSB - Safety Intelligence Analyst RSSB Member
Marc Binney DB Cargo Rail (UK) Ltd National Freight Safety Group Member
Mike Laskowski RSSB - Programme Manager RSSB Member
Paul Taylor Colas Rail Limited Infrastructure Safety Liaison Group Member
Seamus Scallon First Group PLC Passenger Train Operators Member
Tavid Dobson RSSB - Lead Technical Specialist RSSB Member
Andrew Hudd ASLEF Trade Unions Associate member
Gary Hassell RMT Trade Unions Associate member

This document is hosted on SPARK


You are now being redirected to SPARK, RSSB's knowledge sharing hub, to access the requested information.

Your RSSB user name and password can be used to access SPARK.