Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Sustainable Development Steering Group


The scope of the Sustainable Development Steering Group (SDSG) as defined in its terms of reference is to:

  • Provide leadership to the Rail Sustainable Development Group
  • Provide direction and support to the Sustainable Rail Programme
  • Take decisions on matters of policy as required.


Committee Information

  • Chairman:

    Clive Burrows, First Group
  • RSSB representative:

    Shamit Gaiger
  • Meeting manager:

    Tanyel Mehmet on 020 3142 5543


The Sustainable Development Steering Group maintains relationships with the following sub-groups:


The SDSG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

  • Passenger train operators
  • Non-passenger train operators
  • ROSCOs
  • Infrastructure managers
  • Suppliers
  • Office of Rail and Road​
  • Department for Transport
  • Transport for London
  • RSSB
members list
Name Company Representing Member type
Clive Burrows First Group PLC Passenger Train Operators Chair
Andrew Clarke Arriva Group Passenger Train Operators Member
David Clarke Railway Industry Association Suppliers Member
David Vazquez Go-Ahead Group Passenger Train Operators Member
Gordon Macleod Transport Scotland Government Member
Graham Richards Office of Rail and Road Regulator Member
Helen Woolston Transport for London LUL / TfL Member
Inga Doak Siemens Rail Automation Suppliers Member
John Collins Angel Trains Ltd Rolling Stock Owners Member
Laura Russell High Speed 2 Infrastructure manager Member
Lisa Constable Network Rail Network Rail / Infrastructure Managers Member
Nick Hunter Atkins Rail Suppliers Member
Nigel Sagar Skanska Suppliers Member
Peter Randall Department for Transport Government Member
Rachael Riley Laing O’Rourke Murphy Suppliers Member
Shamit Gaiger RSSB RSSB Member
Sharon Vye-Parminter Stagecoach Group Passenger Train Operators Member
Steve Enright Abellio Group Passenger Train Operators Member
Tanyel Mehmet RSSB RSSB Industry Groups Manager

This document is hosted on SPARK


You are now being redirected to SPARK, RSSB's knowledge sharing hub, to access the requested information.

Your RSSB user name and password can be used to access SPARK.