Plant Standards Committee


    Within the scope defined in the remit, the Committee’s coverage includes fixed and mobile plant used in the railway industry, and the management of risk from the use of this equipment. Coverage includes:

    • Mobile equipment and machinery used on and off the rails
    • Fixed equipment (for example lighting)Fixed machinery (for example escalators) and power supplies
    • Consideration of the interfaces between any of these items and those covered by other standards committees
    • Consideration of requirements relating to activities dealt with in general, multifunctional documents in so far as they affect items within the committee’s coverage. Examples include: competence, procurement, construction, engineering acceptance, and record keeping.

    Specifically excluded are:

    • Traction power supply
    • Locomotives, wagons, and coaches that are used on rail outside of possessions and are not on-track machines

    Message from the chair

    The PLT SC is responsible for Railway Industry Standards (RISs) covering the technical requirements and assessment of mobile plant used for the maintenance and construction of the railway infrastructure.  This includes on-track plant used in engineering possessions, on-track machines also capable of movement on the operational railway, and other plant designed or adapted for railway use.  We are also the BSI panel for European and International standards that influence railway plant and equipment used to service trains.


      The Plant Standards Committee has members representing the following industry categories:

      • rolling stock owners and leasing companies
      • freight and other non-passenger train operators
      • infrastructure managers and owners
      • infrastructure contractors
      • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
      • RSSB.
      Chair of committee: Neil Halliday , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      RSSB main representative: Neil Dinmore , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Other Members
      Other members
      Neil Halliday
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Laurence Jary
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Nicholas Powell
      Colas Rail Ltd
      Non Passenger Train Operator
      Andy Crago
      OSL Rail Limited
      Simon Bailey
      Office of Rail and Road
      Office of Rail and Road
      Phil Hibberd
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      David Geering
      Harsco Rail Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Neil Hewitt
      Volkerrail Limited
      Rolling Stock Owner
      Nick Wilkinson
      Babcock Rail Ltd
      Infrastructure Contractor
      Paul Milner
      Matisa Matériel Industriel SA
      John Ockenden
      Amey Rail Limited
      Mick James
      Plasser UK Ltd
      Malcolm Miles
      Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Roger Soper
      Rexquote Ltd
      Alex McCristal
      SNC-Lavalin Rail & Transit Limited
      Carl Hunt
      Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Jordan Skey
      Transport For London (TFL)
      Infrastructure Manager
      Neil Dinmore
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Hannah Brown
      Railway Industry Association (RIA)
      Do you need to get in touch with this group?
      Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
      Stephanie Lavy
      Tel: 020 3142 5469
      Cookies help us improve your website experience.
      By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.