Sustainable Rail Leadership Group

    The purpose of the Sustainable Development Steering Group (SDSG) is to enable the rail industry to efficiently and effectively deliver a more sustainable railway through adoption of the Rail Sustainable Development Principles.


    The scope of the Sustainable Development Steering Group (SDSG) as defined in its terms of reference is to:

    • Provide leadership to the Rail Sustainable Development GroupProvide direction and support to theSustainable Rail ProgrammeTake decisions on matters of policy as required.

    Message from the chair

    SDSG has a goal of achieving cleaner air and reduced carbon consumption, together with better advised environmental, sustainability and accessibility decision making. We are helping the rail industry identify the trajectory needed to deliver the zero net carbon by 2050 goal, as defined by the Climate Change Commission.


    The SDSG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

    • Transport for London
    • passenger train operators
    • rolling stock owners and leasing companies
    • freight and other non-passenger train operators
    • infrastructure managers and owners
    • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
    • RSSB
    • Department for Transport (observer)
    • Office of Rail and Road (observer).
    Chair of committee: Clive Burrows , First Group PLC
    RSSB main representative: Michelle Papayannakos , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Other Members
    Other members
    Clive Burrows
    First Group PLC
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Rossa Donovan
    Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Robert McBride
    Transport Scotland
    Lorenzo Visenti
    Arriva UK Trains
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Ross Shepherd
    Beacon Rail Leasing Limited
    Rolling Stock Owner
    John Halsall
    Amey Plc
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Martin Gregson
    Siemens PLC t/a Siemens Building Technologies
    Nicola Martin
    Balfour Beatty Rail Limited
    Ben Shaw
    Office of Rail and Road
    David Clarke
    Railway Industry Association (RIA)
    George Davies
    Steve Enright
    Abellio Transport Group Limited
    Jamie Richardson
    Atkins Limited
    Steven Van Niekerk
    HS1 Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Racheal Riley
    Laing O'Rourke Construction Limited
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Andrew Hicks
    Angel Trains Ltd
    Rolling Stock Owner
    Adrian Humphreys
    Office of Rail and Road
    Office of Rail and Road
    Steve Fletcher
    Office of Rail and Road
    Office of Rail and Road
    Francis Robson
    Alliance Rail Holdings Ltd
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Gareth Williams
    First Trenitalia West Coast Rail Ltd
    Train Operating Company
    Laura Harding
    High Speed Two (HS2) Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Michelle Papayannakos
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Sam Longman
    Transport For London (TFL)
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Lauren Hunt
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Patrick Malone
    Department For Transport
    Nigel Sagar
    Skanska Construction UK Ltd
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Mark Gaynor
    Rail Delivery Group
    Train Operating Company
    Sian Lloyd
    Do you need to get in touch with this group?
    Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
    Stephanie Lavy
    Tel: 020 3142 5469
    Cookies help us improve your website experience.
    By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.