RSSB Human Factors received President Award
Featured story

RSSB Human Factors department have been awarded the President Awards from the Chartered Institute of Ergonomics and Human Factors (CIEHF).

The award was given in recognition for significant contribution to research and development and the application of knowledge, in ergonomics and human factors in the rail industry at an event earlier this month.

Recognising the significant contribution RSSB's Human Factors team has had on the rail industry, from the library of rail related human factors research, to the integration of non-technical skills with organisations competence management systems. The range of research undertaken by the team includes the development of fatigue risk management systems, selection processes for train drivers, management of issues relating to the platform train interface, human factors data collection in accident investigations and consideration of human factors issues in the development of new technologies.   

Receiving the award Dr Ann Mills, Head of Human Factors, said: This award recognises not only, the whole RSSB team effort in developing the human factors discipline within rail to support the whole system perspective RSSB provides, but the rail industry's support for and deepening understanding of how human factors can help them run a safer, better rail network for all.

Steve Barraclough, Chief Executive, CIEHF said: The Chartered Institute of Ergonomics and Human Factors is delighted to make our annual President's Award to the 14-strong human factors team led by Dr. Ann Mills. Supporting the rail industry in the development of national and European standards, safety and risk analysis, sponsoring and undertaking research and providing advice to stakeholders, this team has grown to make a significant contribution to research and development and to the application of knowledge generally in the field of ergonomics and human factors.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.