Control Command and Signalling Standards committee


    The scope of the Control Command and Signalling Standards Committee (CCS SC) is defined in its remit. The CCS subsystem covers signalling, train control, telecommunications, and positioning equipment.

    The CCS SC deals with engineering interface issues between railway companies. This includes interfaces between trackside and train-borne sub-systems and between trackside equipment and railway undertaking operators. It excludes operational rules to operate equipment.

    Message from the chair

    CCS SC enables industry to develop standards. Our current focus is on lineside and platform stop car signage, and revised application requirements for Automatic Warning System and Train Protection Warning System. We want to help users apply standards more effectively, so that the economic and wider benefits of standardisation are achieved.  This includes requirements, rationale, and guidance developed through trials, case studies and critical reviews.


    The CCS SC has elected members representing the following industry stakeholders:

    • passenger train operators
    • rolling stock owners and leasing companies
    • freight and other non-passenger train operators
    • infrastructure managers and owners
    • infrastructure contractors
    • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
    • RSSB
    • Department for Transport (observer)
    • Office of Rail and Road (observer).
    Chair of committee: Ged Neacy , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    RSSB main representative: Richard Barrow
    Other Members
    Other members
    Ged Neacy
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Elizabeth Ingram
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    John Gardner
    Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Nick Wright
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Carine Marin
    High Speed Two (HS2) Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Paul Boyle
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Jenny Hamilton
    Office of Rail and Road
    Keith Attwood
    Alstom Transport UK Ltd
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Ian Bridges
    Balfour Beatty Rail Limited
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Neil Ovenden
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Richard Barrow
    Ralph Swaney
    Porterbrook Leasing Company Limited
    Rolling Stock Owner
    Ian Bridges
    Atkins Ltd
    Mike Ainsworth
    Ricardo Rail Ltd
    Andy Stringer
    Siemens Rail Automation Ltd
    David Neil
    Grand Central Railway Company Ltd
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    David Warwick
    Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Richard Morris
    Angel Trains Ltd
    Rolling Stock Owner
    Peter Theobald
    Rail Delivery Group
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Jonathan Evans
    Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Do you need to get in touch with this group?
    Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
    Liz Ingram
    Tel: 020 3142 5522
    Cookies help us improve your website experience.
    By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.