Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

System Safety Risk Group


SSRG promotes collaboration on safety issues aligned to the risk areas described in the industry’s safety strategy ‘Leading Health and Safety on Britain’s Railway’ (LHBSR).

SSRG is the top-level group advising RSSB on its work programme regarding safety data analysis and risk analysis. It does this by:

a) Reviewing industry safety performance analysis and emerging safety issues.
b) Supporting RSSB in identifying and implementing cross-industry safety initiatives.
c) Sharing of learning and good practice.
d) Advising RSSB on industry safety priorities.
e) Supporting RSSB’S engagement and communication with other industry groups or parties with an interest in rail safety.
f) Advising RSSB on the quality of work done regarding its published programme.

Committee Information


The System Safety Risk Group maintains relationships with the following sub-groups:


members list
Name Company Representing Member type
Steve Murphy MTR Crossrail N/A Chair
Allan Spence Network Rail Level Crossings Strategy Group Deputy Chair
Andrew Shackleton RSSB RSSB Member
Gary Cooper Rail Delivery Group Passenger Train Operators Member
George Bearfield RSSB RSSB Member
Ian Smith East Midlands Trains Suicide Prevention Duty Holders Group Member
John Battershall Freightliner Non-Passenger Train Operators Member
Lisbeth Fromling Network Rail Network Rail / Infrastructure Managers Member
Marz Columbini ASLEF Trade Unions Member
Paul Clyndes RMT Trade Unions Member
Paul Rushton East Midlands Trains Train Accidents Risk Group Member
Richard Byrne South Western Railway People on Trains and Stations Risk Group Member
Rupert Lown Network Rail Road Risk Group Member
Sharon Vye-Parminter South Western Railway Trespass Risk Group Member
Steve Coe TSSA Trade Unions Member
Stuart Haden ARUP Infrastructure Safety Leadership Group Member
Jeremy Hotchkiss Department for Transport Government Observer
Johnny Schute Office of Rail and Road Regulator Observer
Christine Kinloch RSSB RSSB Meeting Manager

This document is hosted on SPARK


You are now being redirected to SPARK, RSSB's knowledge sharing hub, to access the requested information.

Your RSSB user name and password can be used to access SPARK.