Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Technical Leadership Group


The Technical Leadership Group (TLG) is sponsored by its two key stakeholders: the Rail Delivery Group (RDG) which is driving the delivery of Britain’s railway to customers and the Rail Supply Group (RSG) which is engaging with and representing the supply chain. The needs of funders/specifiers eg DfT, Transport Scotland, Transport for the North, TfL are represented via RDG/RSG.

TLG comprises of representatives of those bodies which both have an interest in technical leadership and the application of technology to drive better outcomes for customers and funders, and are in a position to affect change. TLG is accountable for the delivery of the Rail Technical Strategy through the Capability Delivery Plan.

The purpose of the Technical Leadership Group (TLG) is to:

Enable the rail industry to efficiently and effectively deliver its agreed plans through the use of technology.

Membership of the TLG is made up of senior representatives of the agencies and bodies that the Group is representing as well as government. Individual membership to TLG is agreed with RDG and RSG as the sponsoring groups for TLG.

TLG maintains relationships with the System Interface Committees, industry activities and other cross industry groups, supporting alignment of their agendas (including research) so that they are consistent with long term needs, and encouraging efficiency in the means by which these are developed.

Terms of Reference

Committee Information

  • Chairman:

    Graham Hopkins, Network Rail
  • RSSB representative:

  • Meeting manager:

    Rosh Mulvany on 020 3142 5579


The Technical Leadership Group maintains relationships with the following sub-groups:


The TLG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

  • Passenger train operators
  • Non-passenger train operators
  • Rolling stock owners
  • Infrastructure managers
  • Department for Transport.
members list
Name Company Representing Member type
Graham Hopkins Network Rail Network Rail / Infrastructure Managers Chair
Andy Doherty Network Rail Systems Interface Committee Member
Andy Smith Rail Bombardier Suppliers Member
Charles Twort Bombardier Transportation Suppliers Member
Chris Lawrence RSSB RSSB Member
Clive Burrows First Group PLC Systems Interface Committee Member
David Clarke Railway industry Association Suppliers Member
Gary Cooper Rail Delivery Group Passenger Train Operators Member
Guy Woodroffe RSSB RSSB Member
Iain Roche High Speed 2 Infrastructure manager Member
Ian Maxwell Office of Rail and Road Regulator Member
Kuldeep Gharatya Transport for London Infrastructure manager Member
Mark Hicks Angel Trains Ltd Rolling Stock Owners Member
Miranda Cleary Rail Delivery Group Passenger Train Operators Member
Peter Randall Department for Transport Government Member
Richard Clarke DB Cargo Rail (UK) Ltd Non-Passenger Train Operators Member
Richard Jones Rail Industry Association Suppliers Member
Robert Forde Network Rail Network Rail / Infrastructure Managers Member
Trevor Bradbury RSSB RSSB Member
Zena Dent Porterbrook Leasing Rolling Stock Owners Member
Rosh Mulvany RSSB RSSB Meeting Manager

This document is hosted on SPARK


You are now being redirected to SPARK, RSSB's knowledge sharing hub, to access the requested information.

Your RSSB user name and password can be used to access SPARK.