Railway standards are agreed methods on what to do as a minimum requirement in all areas of the railway. Standards cover seven main areas, which are: 

  • Control, Command and Signalling
  • Data, Systems and Telematics (DST)
  • Energy
  • Infrastructure
  • Plant
  • Rolling Stock
  • Traffic Operation and Management.

Each standards area has its own committee, overseen by the Industry Standards Coordination Committee. Sometimes, one standards committee may need to collaborate with other standards committees to ensure that the standards are appropriate for all areas of the railway involved, and that there is good interoperability between different standards areas.