Sustainability Development Steering Group

    The purpose of the Sustainable Development Steering Group (SDSG) is to enable the rail industry to efficiently and effectively deliver a more sustainable railway through adoption of the Rail Sustainable Development Principles.


    The scope of the Sustainable Development Steering Group (SDSG) as defined in its terms of reference is to:

    • Provide leadership to the Rail Sustainable Development GroupProvide direction and support to theSustainable Rail ProgrammeTake decisions on matters of policy as required.

    Message from the chair

    SDSG has a goal of achieving cleaner air and reduced carbon consumption, together with better advised environmental, sustainability and accessibility decision making. We are helping the rail industry identify the trajectory needed to deliver the zero net carbon by 2050 goal, as defined by the Climate Change Commission.


      The SDSG has members representing these industry stakeholders:

      • Transport for London
      • passenger train operators
      • rolling stock owners and leasing companies
      • freight and other non-passenger train operators
      • infrastructure managers and owners
      • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
      • RSSB
      • Department for Transport (observer)
      • Office of Rail and Road (observer).
      Chair of committee: Clive Burrows , First Group PLC
      RSSB main representative: Anthony Perret , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Other Members
      Other members
      Clive Burrows
      First Group PLC
      Passenger Train Operating Company
      Steve Enright
      Abellio Transport Group Limited
      David Clarke
      Railway Industry Association (RIA)
      Helen Woolston
      Transport For London (TFL)
      Nigel Sagar
      Skanska Construction UK Ltd
      Sharon Vye-Parminter
      Stagecoach Group Plc
      David Vazquez
      Nick Hunter
      Atkins Ltd
      Mark Gaynor
      Rail Delivery Group
      Anthony Perret
      Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
      Jamie Bend
      Department For Transport
      Robert McBride
      Transport Scotland
      Rossa Donovan
      Racheal Riley
      Steve Fletcher
      Office of Rail and Road
      Laura Harding
      High Speed Two (HS2) Limited
      Infrastructure Manager
      Michelle Papayannakos
      Andrew Hicks
      Angel Trains Ltd
      Rolling Stock Owner
      Do you need to get in touch with this group?
      Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
      Stephanie Lavy
      Tel: 020 3142 5469
      Cookies help us improve your website experience.
      By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.