The Advisory Group should add value and promote best practice through:

  • Influencing and initiating changes to the system(s)
  • Providing input to the Supplier and the System Owner(s)
  • Providing expertise and an expert forum for the system(s)
  • Promoting consensus, enabling rapid communication/consultation thereby reducing lead times for changes
  • Appointing experts to the ‘List of Experts’
  • Nominating representatives to the Advisory Panel
  • Facilitating improvements in data quality
  • Determining training requirements and monitoring the training provided
  • Organising and supporting initiatives to improve communications amongst users
  • Improving system documentation.

Message from the Chair

The SMIS Advisory Group functions as an advisory group, representing SMIS user interests and presenting industry advice to RSSB’s SMIS Core Focus Strategy. RSSB will communicate its proposed SMIS priorities, strategies and plans to the group for discussion and feedback. The group would also support the SMIS Core Focus Strategy by engaging industry participation in activities such as UAT, training and providing advice on all things ‘SMIS related’ including guidance, documentation and data quality.

The objectives for this group in 2020 is to support RSSB with our SMIS Core Focus Strategy which aims to make SMIS easier to use, improve its performance and stability, and get more value from the information in it.


The group’s membership is made up of the following industry categories:

  • passenger train operators
  • freight and other non-passenger train operators
  • infrastructure managers and owners
  • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
  • RSSB

The person who should attend the User Group should able to implement and influence changes to SMIS input/data extraction processes.

This could be the manager of a team of SMIS inputters, an experienced data analyst, or the only SMIS user within an organisation.  This person will be the key contact used by RSSB to disseminate information, gain opinion on changes to SMIS, etc. Ideally only one person per organisation should attend.

Chair of Committee: Colin Clifton, SE Trains Limited
RSSB main representative: Marcus Dacre

Committee Members

Name Company Representing Status
Abda Hanif First Group PLC Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Alexander Moor RSSB RSSB Member
Andy Littlejohns RSSB RSSB Member
Claire Macmillan RSSB RSSB Observer
Colin Clifton SE Trains Limited Independent Chair
Ian Sankey First Greater Western Limited Train Operating Company Member
Jack Rush Volkerrail Limited Infrastructure Contractor Member
James Davidson Direct Rail Services Limited Suppliers Member
Jay Heavisides RSSB RSSB Member
Joana Duraes Colas Rail Ltd Manufacturers Member
Josh Wright Abellio East Midlands Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Kathryn Taylor SE Trains Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Kevin Thompson RSSB RSSB Alternate
Lerika Jerling DB Cargo (UK) Limited Freight Operator Member
Lisa Regan RSSB RSSB Observer
Mandy Hundal RSSB RSSB Member
Marcus Dacre RSSB RSSB Member
Mark Potter Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Member
Mathew Devine RSSB RSSB Member
Matt Ealden London North Eastern Railway Suppliers Member
Neil Duggan RSSB RSSB Member
Nicola Faulder RSSB RSSB Member
Paul Murray RSSB RSSB Alternate
Paul Sizer RSSB RSSB Member
Simon Groves Transport for Wales Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Siona Vass RSSB RSSB Alternate