The MWG covers all insight, policies and actions to address the risks to the mental wellbeing of all UK rail employees, and all activities required to foster a positive, open culture on mental health across the UK rail industry.

Due to its direct impact on mental wellbeing, the Mental Wellbeing Group supports the management of the psychosocial and trauma elements of Leading Health and Safety on Britain’s Railway’s chapter on ‘Work-related violence and trauma’, although the main responsible group for this topic is the Work Related Violence Strategic Group (WRVSG) owned by the Rail Delivery Group (RDG).

The mental wellbeing of the public is out of the MWG’s scope.

Message from the Chair

The Mental Wellbeing Group seeks to improve the mental wellbeing of transport sector employees. We aim to do this by improving data collection with regard to mental health and providing evidence-based advice to employers on initiatives that are proven to be of benefit.


Chair of committee: Samantha Phillips, Transport for London (TfL)
RSSB main representative: Joana Faustino

Committee Members

Name Company Representing Status
Alex Duthie Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Member
Amelia Stratton Network Rail - North West & Central Region Infrastructure Manager Member
Andrew Harvey Kelios (UK) Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Andy Parry West Midlands Trains Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Chris Culleton East West Railway Company Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Claire Mann First MTR South Western Trains Ltd Passenger Train Operating Company Sponsor
Dominika Ayerst Balfour Beatty Rail Limited Suppliers Member
Emily Castle Costain Limited Infrastructure Contractor Member
Faye Bacon RSSB RSSB Meeting Manager
Fiona King High Speed Two (HS2) Limited Infrastructure Manager Member
George Hamlyn Siemens PLC Suppliers Member
Joana Faustino RSSB RSSB Member
John Metcalfe Aslef Trustee Company Limited Trade Union Member
John Sidebotham Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Member
Jonathan Havard RMT Trade Union Member
Jude Tymon Colas Rail Limited Infrastructure Contractor Member
Lee Woolcott-Ellis South Eastern Trains Limited Passenger Train Operating Company Member
Mark Newns Keltbray Limited Infrastructure Contractor Deputy Chair
Melissa Heywood TSSA Trade Union Member
Rachel Avenell Rail Delivery Group Industry Association Member
Samantha Phillips Transport for London (TfL) Chair Chair
Tina Rees Transport for Wales Rail Limited Infrastructure Manager Member