The RRG has aligned its strategic objectives to those set out in the ‘Leading health & safety on Britain’s railway – a strategy for working together’.

The main areas of focus are:

  • Railway employees, including ORR inspectors, BTP Officers and those conducting investigations, driving to and from their usual place of work to the railway environment.
  • Contractors driving to and from the railway environment.
  • Taxis services for railway employees at work.
  • Bus replacement services and taxis for passengers.

Message from the Chair

It is my vision that the Road Risk Group will support the Industry ambition as described in LHSBR and continue the collaboration already undertaken with key stakeholders.

Namely that Industry will reduce road risk exposure across the rail industry.  We will maximise the potential for cooperation and collaboration across industry sector groups; introduce the ‘rail industry’s management of occupational road risk charter’; and create opportunities to improve reporting and analysis. 

In the last 10 years road traffic accidents have emerged as the biggest contributor to workforce fatalities in the industry. As the railway has become a safer work environment, it has begun to expose the significance of work-related road risk.  During the period 2009/10 – 2018/19 there were 20 workforce fatalities.  Ten of these were work-related road deaths, 50% of all workforce fatalities. 

During the last two years RSSB has formed a collaborative partnership with Highways England to share knowledge, expertise and resources to help the rail industry realise its vision.


The group’s membership is made up of the following industry categories:

  • academia
  • trade unions
  • passenger train operators
  • freight and other non-passenger train operators
  • infrastructure managers and owners
  • RSSB
  • Office of Rail and Road (observer).

Chair of Committee: Steve Enright, Abellio Transport Group Limited
RSSB main representative: Tavid Dobson

Committee Members

Name Company Representing Status
Mick Kiely TES 2000 Ltd Suppliers Alternate
Nadine Rae TSSA Trade Union Member
Nicholas Livesey Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Observer
Nigel Holmes Highways England Independent Member
Nishma Mistry Transport For London (TFL) Infrastructure Manager Member
Paul Brady Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Observer
Paul Murray RSSB RSSB Member
Philip Breen Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency Independent Member
Rachel Leech RSSB RSSB Member
Rebecca Needham The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents Independent Member
Simon Morgan Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Member
Simon Turner Highways England Independent Member
Steve Enright Abellio Transport Group Limited Independent Chair
Steve Moffatt Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Observer
Steven Graham Colas Rail Ltd Infrastructure Contractor Member
Tavid Dobson RSSB RSSB Member
Una Byrne Aslef Trustee Company Limited Trade Union Member
Willie Crawford Network Rail Infrastructure Limited Infrastructure Manager Observer
William Westcott RSSB RSSB Meeting Manager