The group is required to:

  • facilitate the collaborative management of rail freight risk by the provision of an open forum or other appropriate means
  • identify freight risk areas of concern and communicate issues to freight operators for appropriate action
  • monitor and review freight SPAD performance, ERTMS implementation, railway group standards drafting, infrastructure issues, RAIB reports, and ORR reports
  • identify good practice, learning from experience and sharing with freight operator
  • promote improvements in cooperation amongst duty holders
  • deliver projects as directed by NSFG and those as agreed by RFOG meetings
  • ensure recommendations directed at rail freight operators are reviewed and acted upon
  • review and constructively challenge changes to rules and regulations where these impact on freight operators
  • act as a focal point for operational expertise from the freight sector.


The group’s membership is made up of the following industry categories:

  • Department for Transport (observer)
  • infrastructure managers and owners
  • passenger train operators
  • freight and other non-passenger train operators
  • RSSB.

Chair of committee: Nicolas Edwards, DB Cargo (UK) Limited
RSSB main representative: Gerald Riley