Rolling Stocks Standards Committee


    The scope of activities for the Rolling Stock Standards Committee (RSSC) is defined in its remit. This includes aspects of vehicle design, construction, and maintenance associated with:

    • Structures
    • Wheels and axles
    • Brakes
    • Draw gear and couplings
    • Fire resistance
    • Derailment risk
    • Gauge
    • Cab design
    • Interior environment (air quality, lighting, noise, and vibration)
    • Visibility and audibility
    • Train safety systems
    • Doors and windows
    • EMC issues
    • Data recorders

    The committee’s coverage includes consideration of the interfaces between items within its coverage and those within the coverage of other standards committees (for example, the interfaces between railway vehicles and track and structures, traction supply and signalling systems). The committee also gives consideration to requirements relating to activities dealt with in general, multi-functional documents in so far as they affect items within the committee’s coverage. The technical scope of the committee is aligned with the scope of the rolling stock sub-system, as defined for the purposes of interoperability and set out in Directive 2008/57/EC.

    Message from the chair

    A new Chair for RST SC will be elected in January 2020.


    The Rolling Stock Standards Committee has members representing these industry stakeholders:

    • passenger train operators
    • rolling stock owners and leasing companies
    • freight and other non-passenger train operators
    • infrastructure managers and owners
    • infrastructure contractors
    • suppliers and rolling stock manufacturers
    • RSSB
    • Department for Transport (observer)
    • Office of Rail and Road (observer).
    Chair of committee: Hugh O'Neill , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    RSSB main representative: Paul Ferraby , Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Other Members
    Other members
    Giles Turner
    Office of Rail and Road
    Office of Rail Regulation
    Hugh O'Neill
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Hannah Blackmore-Beckham
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Paul Harborough
    SNC-Lavalin Rail & Transit Limited
    Stewart Cameron
    Alstom Transport UK Ltd
    Paul Carter
    Bombardier Transportation UK Limited
    Nigel Day
    VTg Rail UK Ltd
    Rolling Stock Owner
    Rashid Wahidi
    Network Rail Infrastructure Limited
    Infrastructure Manager
    Richard Moore
    Wabtec Corporation
    Mick James
    Plasser UK Ltd
    Infrastructure Contractor
    Mick Bishop
    Porterbrook Leasing Company Limited
    Rolling Stock Owner
    Paul Ferraby
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Peter Theobald
    Rail Delivery Group
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Neil Halliday
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Andy Martlew
    Direct Rail Services Limited
    Non Passenger Train Operator
    Tim Gabb
    Freightliner Limited
    Chris Shepperd (CS)
    Siemens PLC
    David Hickson
    Govia Thameslink Railway
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Peter Hubbard
    Trenitalia C2C Limited
    Passenger Train Operating Company
    Paul Hooper
    Office of Rail and Road
    Huw Parry-Jones
    Hitachi Rail Limited
    Zyanya Flores
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Martin Osman
    Rail Safety and Standards Board Ltd
    Tim Sterry
    Department For Transport
    Darrell Simpson
    Wabtec Rail Limited
    Do you need to get in touch with this group?
    Contact our Industry Groups Manager for questions about the next meeting or about vacancies within this group.
    Hannah Blackmore-Beckham
    Tel: 020 3142 5582
    Cookies help us improve your website experience.
    By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.